Driving vehicles that are massive in size and weight, as well as transport precious cargo—whether it’s goods, merchandise, or even people—requires a commercial driver’s license (CDL). Since commercial drivers are held to a much higher standard compared to those who drive noncommercial vehicles, getting convicted of a DUI in Utah can result in additional penalties.
For example, while the legal limit for non-commercial drivers in Utah is a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of below .05 percent, a commercial driver can get arrested for a DUI for having a BAC of at least .04 percent. Keep in mind, if a commercial driver is operating his personal vehicle at the time of the arrest, he/she will still be held to the same standards and consequences as they would if they were driving a commercial vehicle.
On top of the standard penalties (e.g., jail time, fines, etc.) associated with a DUI, a first offense is also punishable by CDL disqualification—or suspension—of one year. If, however, a commercial driver was operating a commercial vehicle transporting hazardous materials at the time of the arrest, then CDL disqualification will last three years.
A second DUI offense carries lifetime CDL disqualification. Any commercial driver who has been disqualified for life may apply for CDL reinstatement if he/she has successfully completed an approved rehabilitation program, served at least 10 years of the disqualification period, and meets other standards.
Without your CDL, you essentially lose your career and your ability to support yourself and your family. When facing DUI charges, it is imperative to try to avoid conviction by hiring an experienced criminal defense attorney.
If you are a commercial driver who has been arrested for a DUI in Salt Lake City, call Nelson, Taylor & Associates PLLC at (801) 901-7046 and online contact form today to schedule a free initial consultation. Thousands of cases handled throughout Utah!